Good lord in heaven this layout is out of character for me. First layout I've done in months that stayed under 100kb! I'm so proud of myself. HTMLing is just the absolute best way to spend my precious weekend. Who needed sleep anyway? Lunar Heavens, Mercutial Heavens, Venusian Heavens I'm glad Dios didn't dress like this, because I'd hate to see Akio's EoTW uniform if it was inspired by it. Saturnian Heavens, Fixed Heavens, Motive Heavens AREN'T THEY ADORABLE??? See what I mean? Look at the hat!!! Thank god Dios didn't do this. See they're little hanging stars like it's a stage. I dunno.
Revival Record of the Rose Egg SOFIA!

In the original Japanese!

CD CoverBara Tamago Sosei Roku SOFIA - Chuusei yo Yomigaere! - Utinam Reviviscat Medium Aevum!
Revival Record of the Rose Egg SOFIA! -Middle Ages Revive! - Utinam Reviviscat Medium Aevum
Shoujo Kakumei Utena Original Soundtrack 7 (Chorus Album)

Catalog (KICA) Number(s): KICA-467
Release Date: 6-25-99 (June 25th, 1999)
Price: ¥3,059
Released by: KING Records Co., Ltd.

     This CD is basically an image album of Seazer's work. Four tracks appear on other CDs in different forms, but for all rights and purposes, this is all new material, and it's found no where else in the soundtracks. Aside from the name and the four previously mentioned tracks, there seems to be no connection at all between the songs and Shoujo Kakumei Utena. You are of course free to draw connections between the series and movie and the typically haunting lyrics, as you may find it somewhat unavoidable.

Track Information

01. Revival Record of Rose Egg (3:51)
02. Astragalous Earth Backgammon (4:31) (TRANSLATION) *
03. Historical Watchtower [Desert of Letters] (5:59) (TRANSLATION) *
04. The Solitary Existence of the Petite Universe: A History (5:52) (TRANSLATION) *
05. Cradled in the Grave of the World - In the Hands of the World (6:08) (TRANSLATION) *
06. Water Drop that Means the Universal Origin (5:38) *
07. The Oceanic Moon Dies in Indigo (5:27) (TRANSLATION) *
08. Absolute Delusion [Das Erotica] (6:20) (TRANSLATION) *
09. Deforume-Dejyaboo (4:16) *
10. Reminiscence Performance (5:47) *
11. Shura - Corporal Constellation aYz Nebula (6:10) *
12. We Who Have Cast Ourselves Aside Become Fallen Angels (8:29) (TRANSLATION) *
13. Revive! Infinite History [Medium Aevum] (6:28) *

* Translations of these tracks are available at this awesome Spanish website (the translations are in English!)

CD Scans

Cover and Back
CD and Inside of Case
CD Obi (spine card)

Booklet Pages
001, 002, 003, 004, 005, 006, 007, 008, 009, 010, 011

Soundtrack Review

Score: 9.5 of 10
     This is my absolute favorite Utena CD, but admittedly, it's an acquired taste. With few exceptions, this CD is completely new material that has nothing to do with Utena. No character associations, no bias, just Seazer in all his glory. When I first bought this CD, I got it with four other Utena soundtracks, and one listen to it and it was shelved for weeks. When I finally gave it a second run through, I was in love.

     These tracks are more experimental than the original duel choruses were. They're longer, and because they aren't meant to backdrop duels, they don't usually have the same frenzy; the rhythms are slower and the vocals are more relaxed. There's a strong Middle Eastern/Arabian feel to many of the songs here, and Seazer makes frequent use of sound bytes. You never do hear waves crashing in any of the duels. These two factors account almost entirely for the experimental feel the CD has—rest assured there's no mistaking it for anything but Seazer.

     Four songs appear on other CDs, but are never exactly the same track, and personally, the best of each is here. "Astragalous Earth Backgammon" has a karaoke version on soundtrack six, and "Revival of the Rose Egg SOFIA", "Shura - Corporal Constellation aYz Nebula", and "Revive! Infinite History [Medium Aevum]" are all early versions of songs that appear in the Utena movie. The opening, Juri's duel, and Saionji's duel respectively. "Revive! Infinite History [Medium Aevum]" in particular shines here.

     "The Oceanic Moon Dies in Indigo" manages to make sound bytes of carnival music sound haunting. The eight and a half minute epic "We Who Have Cast Ourselves Aside Become Fallen Angels" is rife with just the kind of wacky referential symbolism we all love Seazer for. There's even room for slower, heavy pieces like "The Solitary Existence of the Petite Universe: A History" and the absolutely strange (but not surprisingly, sexy) "Absolute Delusion [Das Erotica]".

     A person who likes Seazer's music because of association to the duels they complement (ie. Miki's my favorite character! Spira Mirabilis ROCKS!) should probably stay away from this CD. But for people who were listening to the latter duel choruses months before they actually saw them, this CD is for you.

Return to Audiology Main Page *** Return to Empty Movement
Ahhh. Nothing like SKU layouts and THE SOPRANOS. Miki probably wears a skirt for easy access right? Look, no more slices, momm!
Little flowery design thingiemabobbers!
I like money.